City Council


The City Council meets at 7:00 p.m. on the first and third Mondays of each month in the Municipal Room of the Monona Public Library (lower level). The Council may meet less regularly in the summer months.

City Council meetings can be streamed live, or a recorded version can be viewed on the Monona Community Media's You Tube channel or on the MononaGo app.  Anyone wishing to address the City Council may do so during the "Appearances" section of each meeting. Speakers may attend the meeting in person or via Zoom by using the Zoom meeting link listed on the agenda.  There is no need to preregister in order to speak. 

Agendas, Minutes & Packets

Agendas and meeting packets are available on Fridays prior to the Monday meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minute

Mayor Mary O'Connor

Mayor Mary O'Connor


The mayor, elected at large for a two-year term of office, together with six alderpersons elected at large for two-year, staggered terms, comprise the Monona City Council.

At the annual organizational meeting in April, one alderperson is elected Council president, functioning as acting mayor whenever necessary.  The current Council president is Doug Wood.

To email an individual council member, please click on their photo below.

Alder Richard Bernstein

Photo of Richard Bernstein

Alder Patrick DePula

Photo of Alder Patrick DePula (head shot)

Alder Brian Holmquist

Photo of Alder Brian Holmquist (head shot)

Alder Nancy Moore

Photo of Nancy Moore

Alder Teresa Radermacher

Photo of Alder Theresa Radermacher (head shot)

Alder/Council President Doug Wood

Alder Doug Wood

Responsibilities & Services

The council serves as the legislative branch of the city government, enacting ordinances and resolutions, approving the annual budget, setting policies, and taking other actions to guide the operations of the city. Elections are held on a nonpartisan basis in April of each year, preceded by a February primary if there are more than double the candidates running as the seats available.